Albums released today: Harry Styles, Porridge Radio, Lykke Li, Flume, etc.


In this segment, we feature the most notable albums each week. Here are the albums released on May 20, 2022:

Harry Styles, Harry’s house

Harry Styles new album, Harry’s house, out today. The third album of the former singer of One Direction, after that of 2019 Thin line, features the previously shared single “As It Was” along with contributions from Devonté Hynes (aka Blood Orange), John Mayer, Tobias Jesso Jr., Pino Palladino, Kid Harpoon, and more. Speaking about the album title, Styles explained in an interview with Apple Music, “The album is named after Haruomi Hosono, he had an album in the 70s called ‘Hosono’s House,’ and I played that track in Japan ; I heard this record and I said to myself “I love it”. It would be really fun to make a record called Harry’s house.”

boiled radio, Waterslide, Diving board, ladder to the sky

Porridge Radio is back with a new album, Water slide, diving board, ladder to the sky, Going through Secretly Canadian. The sequel to the 2020s Every bad premiered with the singles “Back to the Radio”, “The Rip” and “End of Last Year” and was co-produced by Tom Carmichael, Dana Margolin and Sam Yardley. “I kept saying I wanted everything to be ‘stadium epic’ – like Coldplay,” Margolin said in press materials. The singer-songwriter also explained that the title of the album “symbolizes the ups and downs of human life, virtue and transgression. With this album, the feelings of joy, fear and ‘infinity coexist. Read our review of the album.

Lykke Li, EYE

Lykke Li has released an immersive audio-visual album titled EYE. The visual component of EYE, which is led by Theo Lindquist and shot on 16mm film by cinematographer Edu Grau, seeks to “capture the beauty and grandeur of a three-hour European arthouse film, while creating something native to the modern media,” according to Li. The Swedish singer recorded the LP in her bedroom in Los Angeles, reuniting with longtime collaborator Björn Yttling for the first time since 2014. I NEVER LEARN. The sequel to 2018 so sad so sexy was mixed to tape by Shawn Everett in Los Angeles. “I wanted the record to have the intimacy of listening to a voice memo on a macro dose of LSD,” Li said.

nozzle, Palace

Flume has released a new album titled Palaceavailable now via future classic and transgressive. It features guest appearances from Damon Albarn, Caroline Polachek, Oklou, Kučka and Vergen Maria. The Australian producer began writing the music for the album in Los Angeles at the start of the pandemic, finding inspiration by reconnecting with nature. “I made a bunch of recordings around the property that made their way onto the record,” Flume told Apple Music 1’s Zane Lowe. “The record was sort of fragmented over the years of making a session in London with someone or doing it here or on tour. So to try to pull it all together and make it logical and cohesive, I added a whole bunch of wildlife tones and textures from the property. ”

fan club wallet, You are laughing at me

fanclubwallet – the project of Ottawa musician Hannah Judge – has released her debut LP, You are laughing at me. Featuring the advanced singles “Gr8 Timing!”, “Trying to Be Nice” and “That I Won’t Do”, the album was recorded in Port William Sound, Ontario with childhood friend and longtime collaborator Michael Watson. “I think I spend a lot of time trying to be like the cool, cool, calm girl,” Judge said in a press release. “This album is kind of like I was like, ‘Maybe I’m not cool and calm and collected. “”

Charlie Hickey, Nervous at night

Nervous at night is the feature debut of Pasadena-based artist Charlie Hickey. Available now via Phoebe Bridgers’ label The saddest factory records, the album was produced with Marshall Vore and features contributions from Los Angeles musicians such as Harrison Whitford, Christian Lee Hutson and Mason Stoops. It follows on from last year. Count the stars EP and includes early singles ‘Golden Line’, ‘Dandelions’the title track. “It was a real privilege to be able to be surrounded by this community while I was making the album,” Hickey said in our Featured Artist Interview. “It’s very comfortable and we’re all peers, but I’ll always admire all those people. And it can be inspiring and force you to be better to be around those people, but it doesn’t seem to be an impostor.

Type of body, Everything is dangerous but nothing is surprising

Body Type released their debut album, Everything is dangerous but nothing is surprisingGoing through Poison City Records. Sophie McComish, Annabel Blackman, Cecil Coleman and Georgia Wilkinson-Derums recorded the LP in eight days in early 2020 with Jonathan Boulet, who also mastered the record. “We were coming out of a pretty suffocating and restrictive time,” McComish said in press materials. “We kind of regrouped and re-energized and did it ourselves.” Everything is dangerous follows two EPs, EP1 and EP2and includes advanced tracks “The Charm”, “Buoyancy” and “Sex & Range”.

Cola, In depth view

Cola – the new project of former Ought members Tim Darcy and Ben Stidworthy and US Girls/The Weather Station drummer Evan Cartwright – have shared their debut album, In depth view, Going through Fire Talk Discs. Ahead of the release, the group unveiled the songs “Blank Curtain”, “So Excited”, “Degree”, “Water Table” and “Fulton Park”. “It wasn’t the post-Ought band from the start,” Darcy said in press materials. “We really took the time to enjoy the process of collaborating and writing songs together.”

Jordana, In front of the wall

Jordana made her official studio debut, In front of the wallreleased today via grand jury. The record follows two EPs released in 2020, Something to say and For youwhich have been combined to form something to tell you. “The title of the album has several meanings for me,” Jordana explained in a press release. “It’s all about not giving up. The wall can be anything in your path. The album is kind of a reminder to myself that I have to deal with these things, and I can’t take the easy route and turn around. Tracks ‘Catch My Drift’, ‘Pressure Point’, ‘Go Slow’ and ‘To The Ground’ preceded the album.

strange nightmare, strange nightmare

The beginnings eponymous disc from Weird Nightmare, the new project from METZ guitarist and vocalist Alex Edkins, has arrived via sub-pop. The album was primarily recorded during the COVID-19 pandemic and features contributions from Canadian alt-pop artist Chad VanGaalen and Alicia Bognanno of Bully. “Hooks and melody have always been a big part of my songwriting, but they really became the main focus this time around,” Edkins said in a statement about the LP, which features the “Searching for You” promo songs. ‘Lusitania’ and ‘Destroyed’. “It was about doing what felt natural.”

Other albums released today:

Boldy James and the real bad man, don’t kill anything; Mary Lattimore and Paul Sukeena, West Kensington; Tess Parks, And those we saw dancing; Ravyn Lenae, Hypno; Absolutely everything, Raw Data Sensation; Craig Finn, A Legacy of Rentals; collapse, heavy pendulum; Mavis Staples & Levon Helm, take me home; Matmos, Sincerely / Ukłony dla Bogusław Schaeffer; Robert Pollard, Our look; Spice up, Long live; TO SOAK, If I never know you like that again; Ufie, sun factory; Delta Spirit, One is one; Marina Herlop, Pripyat; mxmtoon, rising; Koray Kantarcıoğlu, Loops 2; Mouse Lia, Sweat like caramel; NZIRIA, XXYBRID.


Comments are closed.