IDK: Concert Tiny Desk (home)


The Tiny Desk is working from home for the foreseeable future. Introducing NPR Music’s Tiny Desk (Home) Concerts, bringing you performances from across the country and around the world. It’s the same spirit – stripped down decor, an intimate setting – just a different space.

I first saw IDK perform in 2017. An infectious ball of energy, he captivated the audience with every bar and stride; his personality filled the big stage he only shared with a DJ.

There’s a similar vibe at his (home) gig, actually recorded at his home, with a live audience of neighbors and friends and a palpable sense of genuine hospitality and gratitude. Look at the dark blue paint on the walls carefully selected by IDK, as well as other adornments in her beautiful Los Angeles home. Visually, the piece is lively yet quiet, and sonorous, its music has the same kind of feel.

It begins with a nice slow version of “Puerto Rico”, from his 2021 album DO YOU USE. His lush harmonies and dynamic swells get you ready to dance to his next track, “Taco,” a gritty house-influenced song from his new album produced by DJ prodigy Kaytranada. The title of the album, Simple.refers to Simple City, a neighborhood in southeast Washington, D.C. He wants the world to know that the solution to helping disadvantaged black communities isn’t as “simple” as you think.

More songs from the new disc keep the vibe cool. Although he’s a lyrical rapper, IDK shows off his vocal acumen on “Zaza Tree” and “Breathe,” a musical adventure with the catchiest hook — “let me catch my breath” — and a guitar solo. stellar from producer Mike Dean. “‘Breathe’ is the most ME song I’ve ever done”, IDK wrote on Twitter earlier this month, “and for me, that’s proof that I’m still growing.”

Sign up for daily news!

Stay informed with WPR’s email newsletter.

The set ends strongly with “The Code”, a continuation of his new signature sound of seductive jazz harmonies, hard bass and driving beats.


  • “Porto Rico”
  • “Tacos”
  • “Tree of Zaza”
  • “Breathe”
  • “The code”


  • IDK: vocals
  • Deshaun Allen: drums, percussion
  • Ron Allen: bass
  • Derek Gamlam: keys
  • Kyla Moscovich: trumpet, flugelhorn, percussion, backing vocals
  • Brooke Brewer: backing vocals
  • Chelsea Miller: backing vocals
  • Mike Dean: guitar
  • Obi Nwadije: percussion


  • Video: David Clair, Joe McGarry, Jason Arambulo
  • PA: Mara Schele, Derek Griesbach
  • Director of photography: Matthias Schubert
  • Cameraman: Austin Harris
  • Blunderer: Chris Walters
  • Color: Emi Eck
  • Video production: special order
  • Music Director: Brian London
  • Sound engineer: David Avetisian
  • Vocal Coach: Collin Boyd
  • Engineer (post-production): Eden Nagar


  • Producer: Abby O’Neill
  • Video producer: Kara Frame
  • Audio mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Small production team: Bobby Carter, Joshua Bryant, Michael Zamora, Maia Stern, Ashley Pointer
  • Vice President, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior Vice President, Programming: Anya Grundmann


Comments are closed.