RADIO GENERATION (Previously THE CLIMB ABOVE), a new rock band centered around the combined talents of Jay DeMarcus and Jason Scheffwill release their self-titled debut album on August 5 via Frontiers Music Srl. Twice Grammy Award– winning bassist Demarcus from the very popular country act RASCAL FLATTS and Scheffwho was the lead singer and bassist of the multi-platinum band CHICAGO for over 30 years, are joined by drummer/singer Deen Castronovo (JOURNEY, SAINTS OF THE REVOLUTION),guitarist Chris Rodriguez and guitarist Tom Yankton in RADIO GENERATION.

The official music video for the LP’s first single, “Why are you calling me now?” »seen below.

Classic AOR fans in the style of JOURNEY and CHICAGO will absolutely lose their minds when they hear RADIO GENERATIONhis amazing debut.

Early 2020, RADIO GENERATION came together with the intention of forming a band with one goal – to bring classic 1980s rock back to life.

“This music is the best of all of us”, says Demarcus. “Everyone in this band sings and contributes a lot. Jason is not only one of my best friends, but he’s also one of my favorite singers of all time, and his performances on this record are stellar. Dean is one of the best drummers in the world, but he is also a world-class singer. In fact, I am convinced JOURNEY heard him with us, and I immediately wanted him back in the band! I’m kidding, of course, but we were lucky to have her on this “trip”. To finish, Chris and Yankton are veterans and some of my favorite musicians and singers. Chris and I go back to our beginnings together in Christian music. It’s a real honor to make music with people you respect so much and hold in such high regard.”

Scheff adds: “My partner Jay [DeMarcus] thought of merging RASCAL FLATTS with JOURNEY and CHICAGO, so that’s what we did. Jay had several songs over the years that he co-wrote, exposing all of his influences. It was no surprise that he listened to a lot of JOURNEY and CHICAGO! These songs became the catalyst for the band and we supplemented it with some songs written specifically for the album that were in keeping with that theme. There’s no other way to put it than when you listen to this record you’ll hear a beautiful mix of RASCAL FLATTS meets JOURNEY meets CHICAGO, not to mention having the best of the best in the production, recording and mastering department. A team of all current hitmakers.”

“Radio Generation” track list:

01. Why are you calling me now?
02. angels
03. All night to get there
04. I hope you find
05. It’s time to let go
06. The lights go out in paradise
07. Do not leave
08. Smoking
09. Everything but us
ten. Waiting for your sun
11. Finally understood


Comments are closed.